While Alaska is a more conservative state, when it comes to marijuana laws in Alaska they are more lenient than other states in the union. Alaska has decriminalized marijuana for medicinal uses, and they have also lessened the penalties associated with being caught with this drug. It is always wise to double check Alaska marijuana laws to ensure this information is still accurate as this article was written in 2010.
Possession of Marijuana:
Alaska state law states that individuals can have one ounce or less in their residence or home without any penalty under the law. You may never travel outside of your home; however, if you keep less than one ounce on your person you will not face any criminal charges.
If you are caught with one to four ounces of marijuana you may be charged with a misdemeanor and have to spend 90 days in jail and face a possible $1,000 fine. Take note that the penalties associated with being caught with one to four ounces of marijuana is dependent on your court system, thus there may be no penalty or you may only have to pay a fine or be on probation for a specified amount of time.
If you are caught with more than four ounces of marijuana, or if you have more than 25 mature marijuana plants in your home you will be charged with a felony, which carries a five year prison sentence and a fine of $50,000.
Like most states, Arizona has strict laws when it comes to marijuana in the premises of a school or recreation center. If you are caught with any amount of marijuana within 500 feet of a school or recreation center you will be charged with a felony, which carries a possible prison sentence of five years and a maximum fine of $50,000. Take note, if you live in a private residence near a school or recreation center, the penalty and fines may be disputed by your lawyer as you will have stored the marijuana in a private residence.
Sale or Cultivation:
If you are caught selling less than one ounce of marijuana you will be charged with a misdemeanor, which carries a prison sentence of one year and a fine of $5,000. If you are caught selling or cultivating more than one ounce of marijuana you can be charged with a felony and face up to five years in prison and a $50,000 fine.