If you want to offer nutritional counseling or dietetic services in the State of Florida, you will need to complete a bachelor’s degree program and pass the national exam administered by the Commission on Dietetic Registration (CDR). Registered dietitians in Florida are employed by the Florida Hospital, several government agencies, pharmaceutical companies, health clubs, research labs and even correctional facilities throughout the state.
Some Florida registered dieticians open their own private practiceand work as nutritional counselors or advisors, corporate wellness educators offer several types of nutritional services to the public. Here’s what you need to know about becoming a registered dietitian in the State of Florida:
Training Requirements to Become a Registered Dietitian in Florida
Dietitians in training need to complete at least a four-year degree program in nutritional science, food management, or dietetics that has been accredited by the American Dietetic Association. The state also requires candidates to complete a minimum of 900 hours of an internship program and pass the national registration examination for dietitians administered by the Commission on Dietetic Registration. Dietitians may also consider completing a master’s degree program in their field.
Dietetics is a specialized field and the state of Florida recognizes just three credentials: Registered Dietitian (RD), a national credential, Licensed Dietitian/Nutritionist (LD/N), and Licensed Nutrition Counselor. Licensed dietitians in the state of Florida are allowed to refer to themselves as a licensed nutritionist, nutritionist, and licensed dietitian or simply as a dietician. All individuals must apply for a license through the Florida Department of Health’s Dietetics and Nutrition Practice Council. The State of Florida no longer issues new licenses for the Nutrition Counselor designation (NC).
Getting a Dietitian License in the State of Florida
Individuals who have successfully completed a training program and passed the CDR examination can apply for licensure through the Florida Dietetics and Nutrition Practice Council. All registered dietitians are eligible for state licensure, and licensure requirements are listed in Florida Statutes Title XXXII, Chapter 468, Part X (ss. 468.501 – 468.518). Once licensure and certification requirements are fulfilled, the individual earns the LD or LN (licensed dietitian or licensed nutritionist) designation.
Dietitians maintain their Florida state license by completing 30 hours of continuing education courses every two years, which includes two hours of Medical Errors courses, a maximum of ten hours in educational techniques, risk management, personal growth and management, and a maximum of 15 hours of approved home study courses.
The Florida Department of Health oversees the operations of the Dietetics and Nutrition Practice Council, an organization that consists of licensed members. Licensed dietitians can apply for membership with the American Dietetics Association, a national organization, and the Florida Dietetics Association based in Tallahassee.