Let’s face it, folks: Facebook is taking over the universe. Not only does it allow users to interact with friends, acquaintances, co-workers and long lost kindergarten BFFs, but it’s a socially accepted way to snoop on other people and borderline stalk potential love interests without outwardly breaking any rules.
Of course, the key feature of Facebook is the ability to connect with others. But what about when it’s time to disconnect? Perhaps there’s a former co-worker you don’t talk to anymore — and let’s be honest — never liked much anyway. Or what about the acquaintance who’s always posting long-winded status updates about stuff you don’t care about, the friend you had a huge fight with, or the ex-boyfriend you were madly in love with – that is, before the Bad Breakup? These are all situations in which you may want to employ the ability to disconnect.
And while you’re busy sifting through your friends list and deciding who makes the cut, you may wonder who has given you the Remove Friend treatment. Instead of sorting through hundreds of friends to find out, you can simply log into Facebook and be notified whenever someone deletes you from their friends list.
All you’ll need is the Facebook Friends Checker script from Greasemonkey. It’s simple to install, and speaking from experience, works like a social networking charm. Just minutes after having a fight with a former friend, I logged into Facebook to see if they deleted me from their page — and sure enough they had. That officially sealed the deal on our friendship. Scary as it might seem, it’s kind of become a kind of unwritten rule that once you delete someone from Facebook, you’re getting dangerously close to No Going Back territory.
You can get the script here. Once at this site, simply click “Install” and follow the instructions. The script works by making a list of all your friends, and then every time you log into Facebook, comparing the latest list with the previous one. If the old list contains friends that the current one does not, your one-time friends will pop up at the top of your Facebook page with a message indicating: “The following people are no long friends with you.” Note that if you delete a friend, they will appear in this list as well, as they are no longer in your friends list.
Once you install this script, prepare for a few surprises. In addition to the obvious ex-friends — the one you just had the huge blowout with, for example — you may discover that a few people you thought you were “cool” with have axed you from their Facebook circle. Ouch!
So finding out who isn’t so fond of you, at least on Facebook, is pretty simple. As for how to keep Facebook friends from deleting you, or how to tell who’s de-friended you in Real Life, well that’s for another article entirely.