Everybody is looking for ways to make a little bit extra money these days and one way to make a little cash is to sell that old computer that is lying around and collecting dust. An old computer should always be wiped clean before selling it to somebody because the seller probably won’t want the new owner to be looking at all the files and pictures that may have been left behind. The good news is that erasing all the memory on a PC is easy to do.
Insert the Windows CD into the disc drive and restart the computer. Since the computer is being booted with the Windows CD in the disc drive the computer should automatically start the disc instead of going into Windows like it normally would.
If Windows does not automatically start when the Windows CD is inserted then simply open the “My Computer” folder, click on the drive that the Windows CD is in and then double click on the Windows icon.
When the Windows disc starts up there will be a few different options to choose from. The user will want to choose to copy over previous version of Windows. When the disc is used to copy Windows over the previous version it will erase everything that was on the computer and install Windows over again so that the new user will have a fresh, blank Windows to start with.
If the owner of the computer no longer has a Windows CD then there is another way to delete the files on the computer but it takes longer, is harder and is less efficient. If the owner does not have a Windows CD then they will simply have to go through all their files and delete manually as well as manually uninstall any programs.
Here are a few tips for deleting files manually. If there is a folder full of files then deleting the entire folder is quicker. If for some reason the entire folder can’t be deleted then many files can be chosen at once by clicking on the first file to delete then hold down CTRL and click on each of the files to delete. Then let go of the CTRL key and press the DEL key. This will delete all of the files chosen.
Keep in mind that using the DEL key will move the files to the recycle bin so the user will want to also empty the recycle bin. The user could also hold down the SHIFT key when they press DEL and this will bypass the recycle bin and delete files “permanently”. I use the term permanently because technically files that are deleted manually are still on the computer but a special program would be needed to find them Most people will not have this program but it’s always possible they do That is why installing a fresh version of Windows is always the best option.