If you live in Kansas and consume marijuana, which is also known as cannabis, you need to understand the laws you are breaking and the penalties that are associated with this crime. While marijuana is legalized in several states throughout America for medicinal use, Kansas does not authorize the consumption of this drug for medical or recreational use. Below you will find a complete list of Kansas marijuana laws and penalties.
Possession of Marijuana:
If you are caught with any amount of marijuana you will be charged with a misdemeanor, which carries a possible jail time of one year and a maximum size of $2,500. This means that if you are caught with any amount of marijuana you will face the same charge, doesn’t matter if you have half-a-gram or three ounces. If you are caught with marijuana again, a subsequent offense, you will be charged with either a misdemeanor or felony charge. The actual charge is dependent on the amount of marijuana you have on your person as well as any previous charges. This subsequent charge may require you to face 10 to 24 months as well as a maximum fine of $100,000.
Take note, if you are charged with possession of marijuana for the first time you may be eligible to forego jail time for probation. However, this is only for those with not previous convictions and at the discretion of the judge.
Cultivation of Marijuana:
If you are caught cultivating five or more cannabis plants you will be charged with a felony charge. This charge may require 138 to 204 months in prison and a maximum fine that varies according to the amount of plants you have growing. If you are caught cultivating less than five plants you will be charged with the same jail time and fine as you would for possession.
Sale of Marijuana:
Kansas is very strict if you are caught selling marijuana. If you are caught selling any amount of marijuana, then you will be charged with a felony and may face 14 to 51 months in prison and a maximum fine of $300,000. If you are caught selling any amount of marijuana within 1,000 feet of a school you will also be charged with a felony and a jail time of 46 to 83 months and a maximum fine of $300,000.
If you are caught with marijuana paraphernalia, such as smoking pipes or bongs, the you will be charged with a misdemeanor, which may require up to one year in prison and a maximum fine of $2,500. If this is your first offense you may be able to forego jail time with probation; however, this is at the sole discretion of the courts.