If you wish to get married in Virginia, you must obtain a marriage license in that state. Marriage license requirements vary slightly from state to state. You must meet all of the requirements in the state of Virginia in order to obtain a license and get married in that state.
Where to Obtain a License
You can obtain a marriage license from the clerk of any circuit court in any county in the state of Virginia. You can find a list of Circuit Courts in Virginia here (http://www.courts.state.va.us/courts/circuit.html).
Location of Marriage
If you obtain a marriage license in Virginia, you must get married in the state of Virginia. You can get married anywhere in the state; you do not have to get married in the county in which you receive your marriage license. You must obtain your marriage license in Virginia if you wish to get married in that state; you cannot get married in Virginia with a marriage license issued by another state.
You may get married immediately after receiving your marriage license in Virginia. Your marriage license will expire in 60 days from the date of issuance.
People under the age of 18 must have parental consent in order to obtain a marriage license in Virginia. The state only issues marriage licenses to people under the age of 16 in special circumstances, such as when the woman is pregnant.
You do not have to be a resident of Virginia in order to obtain a marriage license in that state. You simply must get married in Virginia.
The state of Virginia does not require any blood tests prior to obtaining a marriage license.
Some people cannot obtain a marriage license in Virginia. Same sex marriages are not permitted in that state. People that previously married other people and have not obtained a legal divorce or annulment and their prior spouses have not passed away may not obtain a new marriage license. Close relatives, including brothers and sisters, aunts and nephews and uncles and nieces may not marry in the state of Virginia.
The state of Virginia charges a $30 fee for a marriage license (as of September 2010; check with the clerk of courts in the county in which you wish to obtain your license, as the fee may change at any time).
Virginia Department of Health. http://www.vdh.state.va.us/vital_records/marry.htm. Marriage Requirements.
Wedding Vendors. http://www.weddingvendors.com/marriage-license-laws/united-states/virginia/. Virginia Resources.