While marijuana is illegal throughout most of the United States, unless you live in one of the few states that have legalized medical marijuana, the penalties for its use vary from state-to-state. Arizona just recently, as of 2010, legalized marijuana for the use of medical purposes; however, if you do not have a prescription from a licensed physician to consume marijuana you will face strict penalties. Below you will find Arizona marijuana laws and penalties, which are active as of 2010.
Possession of Marijuana:
If you are caught with less than two pounds of marijuana in the state of Arizona, you will be charged with a misdemeanor; however, it is possible to be charged with a felony. The penalty for this offense is six months to 1.5 years in prison and a fine that ranges from $750 to $150,000.
If you are caught with two to four pounds of marijuana this is also a misdemeanor, and possibly felony, offense with a possible sentence of nine months to two years in prison. This offense also carries a potential fine of $750 to $150,000 depending on what the judge decides. If you are caught with four pounds or more of marijuana, this is an automatic felony offense, which carries a prison sentence of 1.5 years to three years in prison and a fine of $750 to $150,000. However, the penalties for being caught with any amount of marijuana within a school zone or near a school bus is a felony offense and an additional one year of prison will be added onto your sentence as well as an additional $2,000 fine.
Take note, you may be able to skip jail time and have probation for your first two convections. This probation requires regular drug screening and drug treatment.
If you are caught growing less than two pounds of marijuana it is a misdemeanor; however, it can also be classified as a felony offense. This carries a nine month to two year prison sentence and a fine up to $150,000. If you are caught cultivating two to four pounds of marijuana, this is an automatic felony offense with a prison term of 1.5 to three years in prison. Lastly, if you are caught cultivating four or more pounds of marijuana you will be charged with a felony crime, which requires a prison sentence ranging from two year to 7.5 years in prison and a fine of up to $150,000.