OMG, was my only thought as I watched Gano make a 52-yard field goal that did not count due to a timely time out call by the Texans’ coach, Gary Kubiak.
Just in case you missed it, here is a quick recap:
The Washington Redskins and the Houston Texans were tied at 27 at the end of regulation.
The Texans played offense first during overtime. The Texans had an opportunity for a field goal attempt from about the 52-yard line but decided to punt instead and trust the defense to hold off the Redskins.
Once the Redskins took over a similar situation happened where the Redskins had the opportunity for a 52-yard field goal attempt to win the game. They decided to go for it and risk giving up good field position for the Texans if they missed.
The team was in place for the field goal. Gano took position to kick and Gary Kubiak called time out right before the snap. Gano made the field goal but it did not count because of the timing of Kubiak’s time out request.
When Gano kicked again he missed off to the right.
My question is whether or not this was fair and if there should be a rule regarding this. My first thought was this was dirty and the game should have been over when Gano made the field goal. Instead, this strategy worked and the Texans gained good field advantage.
The Texans’ return drive positioned them for a 35-yard field goal attempt. While watching this I wondered if Mike Shanahan would try the same strategy, by calling timeout before the snap, but he did not. The field goal attempt was successful and the Texans won the game.
In the end, Kubiak’s strategy turned out to be a winning one. The question is: Was this win due to a dirty action or just plain ol’ good strategizing, in which, the chips fall where they may?