Idaho is known for their potatoes; however, if you require the use of marijuana to cope with a sickness or if you are a recreational user you need to be aware of the penalties for using this drug. Idaho features fairly strict laws concerning marijuana use, and without a good lawyer you may face prison time and a hefty fine if caught using this illegal narcotic. Below you will find the penalties for possession, selling and cultivating marijuana in the state of Idaho.
Possession of Marijuana:
If you are arrested for being under the influence of marijuana or if you are caught using marijuana in public you will be charged with a misdemeanor, which may require up to six months in jail and a fine of $1,000. In addition to this charge, if you are caught with three ounces or less of marijuana you will also be charged with a misdemeanor and may face up to one year in jail and be forced to pay a $1,000 fine.
Being caught with three ounces or more of marijuana is a felony charge in Idaho, and this may require you to serve five years in prison and pay a $10,000 fine.
Sale and Cultivation of Marijuana:
If you are caught selling or growing less than one pound of marijuana, which is equal to 24 plants, you will be charged with a felony and may face up to five years in prison and a $5,000 fine.
Cultivating or selling one to five pounds of marijuana, or growing 25 to 49 plans, is also a felony charge and this requires a one year mandatory minimum sentence and a total fine of up to $50,000. If you’re caught selling/cultivating five to 25 pounds (50 to 99 marijuana plants) you will be charged with a felony and will face a three year mandatory minimum sentence and a maximum fine of $50,000. Growing or selling more than 25 pounds of marijuana (or having 100 or more plants) is a felony, which carries a five year mandatory minimum sentence and a maximum fine of $50,000. If you are caught selling marijuana to a minor who is three years younger than you, you will face a felony charge and double penalties (double jail time and fine).